Press "Enter" to skip to content

Alma Guillermoprieto awarded Princess of Asturias Award 

Mexican investigative journalist, Alma Guillermoprieto, has been awarded the Princess of Asturias Award for Communication and Humanities 2018.

The jury in Oviedo, northern Spain, said they highlighted “her long career and deep knowledge of the complex reality of Latin America, which she transmitted with great courage also in the field of Anglo-Saxon communication, thus building bridges throughout the Americas.”

“With a clear, strong and committed writing, Alma Guillermoprieto represents the best values of journalism in contemporary society, ” said jury president, Víctor García de la Concha.

Alma Estela Guillermo Prieto, known as Alma Guillermoprieto (born Mexico City in 1949), was a Central American reporter for The Guardian and later for The Washington Post where she was a staff writer in the 1980s.

Since 1989, she has written about Latin America for The New Yorker and The New York Review of Books and several publications in Spanish. In 1995, Gabriel García Márquez invited her to the inaugural workshop of the Foundation for New Ibero-American Journalism.

She was visiting professor at the universities of Harvard, Chicago, California in Berkeley and Princeto , part of the faculty of the Foundation for New Ibero-American Journalism and the advisory council of the Latin American Program of the Open Society Foundations founded by George Soros.

Of her passage through Central America, she revealed the massacre of civilians in El Mozote (El Salvador) by the Salvadoran Army.  She has also written about Shining Path in Peru, state terrorism in Argentina, civil conflict and drug trafficking in Colombia and the drug wars in Mexico.

Guillermoprieto is an honorary member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and honorary doctor by Baruch College of the City University of New York.

Among the awards she has received are the Maria Moors Cabot (United States 1990), that of the Association of Latin American Media Studies (United States 1992) and the MacArthur Fellow (United States 1995).