Press "Enter" to skip to content

Mexico’s best golfers prepare for annual OHL Mayakoba classic

Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo — Óscar Fraustro won his place to play at the next OHL Golf Classic at Mayakoba in Mexico’s Riviera Maya.

The annual golf tournament attracts thousands as Mexico’s best compete for first place. This year, golfers such as Óscar Fraustro and José de Jesús Rodríguez will compete after winning the qualifying tournament for Mexicans at the El Camaleon Golf Club.

Fraustro joins José de Jesús Rodríguez who won the first Mexican sponsor exemption finishing in the highest position in the World Golf Ranking after the conclusion of the PGA TOUR FedExCup 2017 season and the Web final Tour 2017 .

“We are very proud to support Mexican golfers, extending these invitations to the country’s most deserving players,” said Joe Mazzeo, Director of the OHL Classic at Mayakoba Tournament.

“We are sure that the Mexicans who play in Mayakoba this November will put the name of Mexico on high and will have excellent performance alongside the best golfers in the world.”

After a fierce competition of 27 holes, Fraustro reached the victory pulling 2-under-par 106 leaving him tied with Juan Diego Fernande , which generated a sudden death tie. They returned to play the 18th hole where Fraust made a pair in front of Fernandez bogey to achieve the victory.

“I am very happy to return for the sixth consecutive year to the OHL Classic at Mayakoba. Mayakoba is like my home and they treat me very well in this classification, and although I did not have my best game, somehow I was able to concentrate to close with victory. It’s great to have this month to prepare and return to hopefully to have my best tournament ” said Óscar Fraustro.

Fraustro and Rodríguez join the field of players who will compete from November 9 to 12 for a bag of $7.1 millioin USD and a direct invitation to the Masters of Augusta. This will be the sixth consecutive time for Fraustro and the seventh that Rodríguez will participate in the OHL Classic at Mayakoba.

Other Mexicans participating will include Abraham Ancer and Roberto Díaz, Rickie Fowler, Gary Woodland, Pat Perez, Graeme McDowell, Charley Hoffman, Harris English and John Huh.
Venezuelan Jhonattan Vegas, Argentine Emiliano Grillo and Colombian Camilo Villegas will return this November to Mayakoba. This will be the seventh consecutive participation of Vegas, the fifth of Villegas and the second of Grillo.

Comments are closed.