Press "Enter" to skip to content

State of Michoacán under emergency as temperatures soar

Michoacán, Mexico — Civil Protection has issued a heat warning for 34 municipalities in the state of Michoacán that has been ongoing since May 28.

The National Coordination of Civil Protection of the Ministry of the Interior issued an Emergency Declaration for 34 municipalities of Michoacan.

Resources from the Natural Disaster Fund (Fonden) will be used to safeguard the the municipalities at risk which include Tiquicheo, San Lucas, Huetamo, Carácuaro, Nocupétaro, Turicato, Churumuco, La Huacana, Ario de Rosales, New Urecho, Gabriel Zamora, Ziracuaretiro, Uruapan, Taretan, Múgica, Tumbiscatío and Apatzingán.

Other municipalities that are expected to be affected by high temperatures and to which federal resources will be allocated include Parácuaro, Tancítaro, Nuevo Parangaricutiro, Peribán, Buenavista, Tepalcatepec, Aguililla, Coalcomán, Chinicuila, Álvaro Obregón, José Sixto Verduzco, Numarán, Zináparo, Churintzio, La Piedad, Yurécuaro and Tanhuato.

In a press release, the state coordinator of Civil Protection, Pedro Carlos Mandujano, reported that with the State Government and municipalities can access resources to implement emergency actions for those at risk.

Municipalities located in the Tierra Caliente region of the state continue to experience temperatures ranging between 45 and 50 degrees Celsius.